Robert’s Rules of Order

Robert’s Rules says that the chair can vote – is this right?

Section 4 of Robert’s Rules of Order Newly Revised 10th Edition does indeed state that the presiding officer of a meeting has the same voting right as another member of the body.  It goes on to state however that:
… the chair protects his impartial position by exercising his voting right only when his vote would affect the outcome, in which case he can either vote and thereby change the result, or he can abstain.  If he abstains, he simply announces the result with no mention of his own vote.  (§ 4, p. 50-51)
In a counted rising vote (or a count of hands) on a motion requiring a majority vote for adoption, the outcome will be determined by the chair’s action in cases where, without his vote, there is (a) a tie, or (b) one more in the affirmative in than in the negative.
So what do you do when your city has adopted Robert’s Rules but your charter says that the mayor only votes to break a tie?  Follow your charter.  Well, what do you do if the mayor has the right to vote according to the charter but she never does?  That is a mayoral decision that rests in her hands in that case.
On a side note, this column has been running for a little over a year now and my list of topics to cover is growing short.  If you have any issues regarding Robert’s Rules, or a follow up question to a previous topic, please let me know and I will be sure to address it in a future article.
